Account Suspended

Member Since Sep 2011
3,729 hugs
given
PC PoohBah!
Default Jun 12, 2013 at 05:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by High Treason View Post
Since I am not a doctor, nurse, or therapist, I guess what you are suggesting is that I just leave her because things aren't going to get any better and there's nothing I can do about it.
Not to that extreme.

What I am suggesting is as follows:

suppose that mental health were taken seriously in Korea (counterfactually, according to OP).

What would you expect from a doctor/nurse/therapist who takes MH seriously?

You can expect medications from a doctor/nurse but not a therapist.

You can also expect a doctor/nurse/therapist to advise your gf to use non-pharmacological tools to get out of her depression (exercise, sun exposure, etc.)

Since it is not rocket science to - exercise, walk in the sun, etc. - and the advice of a (non-existent in Korea) doctor/nurse/ therapist to use those tools can be predicted, you might as well suggest them to her. You cannot prescribe medications but you can tell her to go outside and spend 20-30 minutes in the sun.

And if that fails, I think there is nothing you can do - she appears resigned to leading a non-life as a hermit who plays video games.

PS Since she responds to your sexual overtures by citing her being tired, you can try:

1) make those overtures first thing in the morning rather than at bedtime, and/or