View Single Post
exchristian
Newly Joined

Member Since Sep 2014
Default Sep 20, 2014 at 03:08 PM

I'm 23 and I feel like my parents - whether intentional or unintentional - are keeping me here as much as possible like a prisoner.

I was homeschooled for high school and I feel like that was a total bust. English and History went fine because I decided to take control of that myself. However, I feel like I still have only an 8th grade level grasp of math and science. Of course I took absolutely NO testing (SAT/ACT). Thank god I got an actual diploma though.

I was never taught how to drive. My parents refuse to teach me. They keep saying they will save up enough money for me to take driving lessons soon. They've been saying that for the past 8 years. Whereever I go, whatever I do outside the home (unless someone else drives me) is completely under their control and refuse to drive me places that they don't agree with "morally".

They have access to my bank account. Despite my pleads, it is always "inconvenient" for them to take me personally to deposit or withdraw money. They insist on taking my money themselves and withdrawing or depositing not in my presence. They usually do as I ask but I feel like they do it just to feel in control. I see this on my bank statement....which I get in the mail, which my parents give me already ripped opened and looked at before I even know of its existence. Again, all this wouldn't be a big deal if in the past they haven't withdrawn thousands of dollars of my money from my bank account and not tell me about it until after they've spent it. They make sincere efforts to pay me big but I'm sure I will never again see the bulk of it. I don't even really know how to make withdrawals or deposits because I was never taught, it was always done for me. Now that I want to take control, they don't teach me.