View Single Post
Anonymous37791

Default May 06, 2015 at 06:09 PM

In my early 30s, been hiding out from the world completely for 5 or 6 years now, and mostly throughout my life. No friendships, relationships or major responsibilities. Operate when the sun goes down. I tried telling myself for the longest time that what kept me from everything and everyone was natural - just the way I was, I had no need for the things other petty humans did, blahblahblah.

Some of it's true. I'm content in my own company for the most part. But am also terrified of being known/seen/judged. I can't even post online without combing over the details 20 times, and often end up deleting whatever it was. I feel like a stumbling simpleton around my peers and those younger than me despite being fairly intelligent. I worked as a manager for awhile in my 20s somehow, but nobody really respected me. To them, I just kind of lucked into the job or whatever, through seniority. Employees kept coming in late or taking days off I'd have to fill in for. I'd even catch them watching TV shows on their damn laptops in a drawer or something, and I said something once and I was suddenly the bad guy. My softly spoken reprimands did nothing and upper management didn't have time for such things. Some of these jerks had kids so I didn't want to write them up. It eventually did drive me to a breakdown and I've been mortified of returning to work ever since.