View Single Post
with or without you
Poohbah

Member Since Nov 2010
Default Oct 21, 2016 at 07:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delicious View Post
My doctor added a prescription that I've always dreaded: antidepressants. (Celexa/citalopram)

I've always said that I could beat this on my own, that I could work it out and get through it all, but having my doctor give me the prescription just makes me feel like even more of a failure.

She says it'll help get me motivated to do the things I like again. I'm an artist, but haven't enjoyed painting in a while. I do commissions, which puts a strain on me since I have someone expecting me to do things, even when I can't.

I took it a few days, but felt horrible! If I took it at night, I couldn't sleep. If I took it in the day, I couldn't stay awake. And the migraines, horrible nonstop migraines.

So I stopped.

Is this normal? How do you feel about meds? Do they work for you?

I'm trying the amino acid method next, maybe it can balance me out...

You're not a failure for trying meds. I hate that the stigma about taking psych meds is still out there. I am an artist too and depression makes me totally uninterested in creating anything.