View Single Post
Bugs-N-Hugs

Member Since Dec 2016
10 hugs
given
Unhappy Dec 16, 2016 at 08:46 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icare dixit View Post
Do you have a strong sense of identity; do you (generally) know why you do the things you do?
I know why I do some things. I'm a writer, for instance. I write because it's everything to me. It's comfort, friend, fantasy, haven, escape, solace, obsession, and just plain fun. And I'm pretty good at it, so that helps with the enjoyment part.

As to everything else . . . well, there IS nothing else. I don't do anything but write and read. I barely hang out with the friends I used to have. Though yesterday I hung out with someone I hadn't seen in two years. It was fun, but very stressful and I was fighting look at my phone for the time.

Strong sense of identity? I don't know. I don't know what a strong sense of identity would feel like, to tell if I have one or not. I just know that if most people have a core of some sort, a baseline character, mine doesn't exist. Or it's so protean, it may as well not. I'm different people depending on who I'm around, and when I'm not around anyone, I'm NOT anyone. I either stare into space, sleep, or write.

Quote:
If it helps to explain some aspects of your behaviour, being diagnosed with BPD could be desirable. I don't see a problem with that, necessarily. What strikes me as odd is that you want to be seen as manipulative.
Oh, goodness, NO. I don't WANT to be seen that way, I just try to be honest about who and how I am. I do whatever suits me. Damn the consequences to others. I will do whatever I need to to get what I want--which is usually, luckily for others, to be left alone. I wear a mask of happiness and twist people every which way to make them think I'm fine, even when I'm one remark away from screaming or crying, because happy people get left alone. No one asks: "Hey, why're you happy?" If you're sad or angry, everyone wants a piece of your misery. Which I find really creepy.