View Single Post
seesaw
Human

Member Since Apr 2014
1,276 hugs
given
Default Sep 29, 2018 at 07:10 AM

Thought I'd join this thread. Quick backstory: I was a professional dancer and then an endurance athlete (hobbyist, but serious). I was a personal trainer at one point, I know all the ins and outs of nutrition and exercise, and was very healthy, physically, up until 2014 when all hell broke loose because of the bad reaction I had to psych meds. Very quickly I put on about 70-80lbs and the last few years I've struggled with. At first there was nothing I could do I had to focus on my mental well-being and dealing with the medication merry-go-round. Then in 2017 I started actively trying to get back to where I was, at least weight-wise, maybe not strength-wise, and I had lost nearly 30lbs before I lost my job and downward spiraled back into depression and put it all back on.

Fortunately, I will say that when I topped out at about 225, and got off meds, I haven't been gaining any, at all. My daily routine and attempts to eat healthy keep me very steady there. I have noticed that when I am extra careful with portions and healthier choices, that it starts to tick down the scale. Add on top of that regular walking, gets even better.

The problem I've had lately is that I used to be able to do this all on my own. I have plenty of motivation but my discipline for it, while I'm very disciplined in other areas, is very low, probably because I have to be so disciplined in other areas, it's like you can't push yourself on everything you are doing in life, right?