CepheidVariable
Stardust

Member Since Jun 2017
2,472 hugs
given
Default Mar 13, 2019 at 05:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silk Chaos View Post
Yes, I've been in therapy for a few years now, and I'm on meds. I've been working very hard for many years to find an answer that actually plays out.

I struggle with whether or not my situation and history actually matters at this point. Things are what they are and there is no changing them. I try to not worry about that which I cannot control.

Statements like "happiness is a choice" perplex me. For me, it isn't. I don't have a choice in the matter. Life happens, you die, end of story. What happens in between is really of no consequence that I can find. Saying that I can make a choice and somehow make the outcome different is a fallacy that has no basis in reality.

Even without looking at the finality of it all, for me to believe would require me to know what happiness is. I don't. I can't remember a time in my life when I did. Sure, there have been times when the world is less sucky than others, but those are so fleeting that I can't classify them as happiness.
Thanks for responding.

It sounds really rough. I don't know if any of this helps, but a few thoughts ...

Yes, in the end we all die and that's all she wrote. But I think the consequence is how we feel and what we experience while we are alive.

In the past, I have placed too much emphasis on some widely accepted truisms. "Happiness is a choice" is a hugely popular one. It sounds solid from a "re-framing" perspective and it helps a lot of people. But *none* of these statements are absolute. Happiness is a choice -- except for those for which it is not. Some people have mental conditions or are otherwise in a place that prevent it from being something they are capable of acting upon at that time.