View Single Post
wildflowerchild25
Elder

Member Since Mar 2013
9,563 hugs
given
PC PoohBah!
Default May 09, 2019 at 05:31 PM

My psych care started when I was 14. I started self harming in eighth grade and my mom found out and took me to the hospital. From 14-16 I was in the hospital six times, in the state hospital for three months, and in a residential program for six month. The. I moved to a new school for kids with behavioral and emotional problems and I did much better. I even stopped my medication and therapy. I still self harmed though. But sometimes I could go three months without it whereas previously it had been multiple times a day.

I refer to 2005-2006 as my lost year. After I graduated high school I fell into a deep depression over the summer. I started self harming more often. I went to college in the fall and lived on campus but I couldn’t hack it. I went to a counselor on campus but I did something stupid and she put me in the hospital. That’s where I got my first bp dx and ended up going into basically a year long mixed episode. I was in the hospital seven times in ten months. Any time out of the hospital was spent in a PHP program. It all culminated in a serious suicide attempt and my first round of ect treatments. Ect pulled me out of the severe depression I was in and gave me my life back. I also met my husband at this time. I spent another six months in a PHP program that helped me deal with the trauma of losing my dad and I was on my way. I was convinced I didn’t have bipolar.

All was well for six years. I finished college, got married, had my son. I had occasional episodes but didn’t recognize them for what they were. I was off medication and out of therapy. It was nice.