View Single Post
purpledolphin

Member Since May 2019
Frown May 25, 2019 at 09:15 PM

I wasn't sure where to post this so sorry if it's in the wrong place. A few weeks ago I was clumsy and scraped my left hand when getting out of the boat (I'm on a dragon boat team). It left these really ugly white/pink scars on my left hand. I've been boating for 7 years and have never done something this stupid. I think they will be permanent. For some reason it has broken me and I just feel damaged, useless, worthless, lesser of a person. Scars never bothered me before but I feel like I just have too many flaws now and the universe is trying hard to make me unattractive. The scars on my hand are very visible and looks like a disease.

The timing for this is really bad because I had just started to feel good about myself and my body. I have been working out, eating healthily, and was seeing a life coach who encouraged me to start dating. I'm 36 years old, female (black) and have been single most of my life. I'm super worried because I plan to date interracially, and I feel like I'll be dating on the hard level. I'm worried that I just can't compete with other women in terms of looks, and this new ugly scar on my hand is going to ruin my chances. Why would a guy want me when there are plenty of other women out there who are attractive, with nice personalities and don't have scars, blemishes, etc? I'm thinking maybe I should quit dragon boating since I'm likely to hit myself again and get yet another scar.

Whenever I type, play the piano, write, draw, paint, etc, all I see are the ugly scars on my left hand I feel terrible. I just feel like I'm doomed and no man will want to date me after seeing my hand scar which is very visible. I'm not attractive enough to make up for it. Black women are judged more harshly for their imperfections. I don't have the smooth, perfect even skin that other black celebrity women have.