View Single Post
PeachCream22

Member Since Jul 2013
287 hugs
given
Trig May 26, 2019 at 08:34 AM

Heads up, it's gonna be a long one.

I wasn't sure whether I should post this under school, coping with emotion or relationships. I suppose it is a mixture, and I do need someone to talk to on how to cope.

Since last year I graduated from my degree, times have been very tough. I live with my family, and they paid for my degree. I worked hard and I graduated with first class honours. After graduating I became confused on what to do actually, and my current country in a messy state. Jobs are difficult to find, I couldn't land a job, and I was really doing serious self-reflecting on what I wanted to do. I was just keeping my options open but at the same time I decided to really chase my dreams. I decided to apply for a Master's degree because I really wanted to delve and specialize in Neuroscience and Psychiatry, I was quite passionate about mental health. That was my biggest mistake, to try and apply.

I managed to get into Oxford, and I hoped to God I could get a scholarship for the first few months after getting an offer, because I knew my family couldn't afford it. Then things got really ugly. Over the course of these next few months, my brother saw my IG stories about my offer and he started screaming at me, calling me spoiled for always getting my way and for my family to pay for my degree, and I started crying and he screamed more at me. Then from then on, he started giving me the silent treatment, for months. I was angry at how he treated me, but I could not do anything. My older sister initially comforted me about it, and then after a while decided that I didn't ''know the consequences of my actions by applying for a Masters''. She started getting angry at me and when I talked back at her and she said things like I have attitude and didn't respect my elders.