View Single Post
Anonymous42119

Default Oct 01, 2019 at 07:37 PM

@jaymoq -- I'm the same way concerning therapy! I initially studied psychology and volunteered in a clinical psychology research lab to get some research experience and publish my undergrad honors thesis into a peer-reviewed journal. After spending some time there, and considering my unresolved trauma issues, I've decided that clinical psychology, social work, or an LPC isn't what I can do (I don't want to get vicarious or secondary trauma on top of the traumas I already have). However, I found that I loved working on trauma research, and it didn't trigger me to do so. I suppose being in support groups in real life and hearing others' stories while I shared my own helped me to desensitize that way before I completed my undergrad degree in psych. I'm now looking at victimology studies in the criminal justice side of things, or interdisciplinary research. My goal is to eventually get a PhD, but I have to get my physical and mental health manageable. My chronic fatigue is really bad, as is my worsening thyroid.