View Single Post
Anonymous32451

Default Oct 08, 2019 at 02:23 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lillib View Post
@88Butterfly88

I graduated in 2015 and my mental illness had taken a toll. I'm now 45 and trying so hard to find the energy to go to grad school (I graduated summa cum laude with other honors, but still cannot manage to take the next step - yet).

You'll get there. One step/day at a time! That's what I tell myself. I've changed course, so I don't work in psychology per se, but I'm now applying for grad school to study victimology and public administration (an interdisciplinary program). I knew that a bachelor's degree isn't enough for me to really rehabilitate, especially given all of my past work experiences and not wanting to shortchange my potentials. I also am not energetic enough to do full-time work, so my goal is to go all the way with grad school and do part-time work for either the government or for a non-profit organization as a researcher/PI. That's my goal. Part-time work is feasible in such arenas, though it takes a lot of effort to justify why full-time work isn't in the cards.