View Single Post
Anonymous42119

Trig Oct 11, 2019 at 08:19 PM

You have permission to laugh at me... or with me... even when I'm afraid and acting all sorts of weird...

Although I had went through police training (I was never a cop, but did the training) and enlisted in the military, and although my past life pre-military-traumas encompassed my being comfortable with authority figures, I FEAR ALL AUTHORITY FIGURES TODAY.

Why?

Possible trigger:

Regardless of the why (or potential etiologies), fearing authority figures today is really tough. I constantly worry about what they think of me, or what they can do to me based on what they think of me. I fear having my reputation, future, physical health, and mental health ruined by those who abuse their power. I respect and love police, but still fear them. I respect and love our military, but still fear them, including veterans at times, even though I'm a veteran. I respect and love therapists, but I fear those who can abuse their power in therapy. I respect and love professors, but I fear those who can abuse their power in academic settings. I respect and love our government, but I fear those who can abuse their power in policy and public administration.

Applying for graduate school involves my fears of authority. The institution of academia is already intimidating enough. I have enough (not much) psychological hardiness and self-efficacy to succeed, but only if I'm not victimized on campus or a victim of someone's abuse of power. I may be able to assert myself well in most cases, but sometimes I'm not when I cower.

Even here I fear what some of the professionals reading our comments think about me or those like me. (Yes, you can laugh, but this is serious. I am afraid. I've been harmed physically, psychologically, academically, relationally, reputationally, monetarily, and professionally by those in positions of power throughout my adult life, not so much my childhood life).