maybeblue
Grand Member

Member Since Jan 2018
70 hugs
given
Default Oct 25, 2019 at 10:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by SalingerEsme View Post
I don't know the workings of DBT, so maybe this is impossible. I really like Xynesthesia's common sense understanding of staying to get what you can out of it, and I also resonate with the scariness of bad, dangerous therapy or having an erratic therapist. You are right that it is negligent to treat a suicidal patient like that. I agree too with the fantastic post by Susannah that this type of direct accusation can be gas on the fire for a person already edgy about power and control. Is there anyway you can shift or transfer to one of the T's who gave her feedback that she dd the wrong thing with you? Change T's, but stay in that program? Forgive me if this is common knowledge and cant work. I have no experience with DBT. I do think it is outrageous to terminate a client by text, and that she isn't being very realistic about the severity of that . I would also want to make her face another reality. Hey, you could report her to her licensing board. You could easily give her a fair and tough review online. She isn't grappling enough, imo, with "To Do No Harm" and the ethical significance of putting you at risk that way.
I think that if I were in a larger program that it would be possible and smart for me to do that, but this is actually a private program with really only one therapist and her "team" is possibly just one other therapist who works with a completely different population...or maybe they have others and they meet remotely.