Poohbah

Member Since Mar 2019
1,724 hugs
given
Default Nov 05, 2020 at 07:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MusicLover82 View Post
I

I just feel like giving up on trying to lose weight. I used to be a pro at it: I lost 70 lbs and was doing great. Then I had med changes, mood swings, blah blah blah.... gained most of it back. I'm feeling pretty down and hopeless about the whole thing.

Any success stories about controlling your weight on all these meds plus with episodes?

Thanks!
@MusicLover82

I think it is very difficult. A lot of the tips mentioed so far in this thread, while well meaning, are either tips that apply to anyone trying to lose weight. Or they come from people who aren't mostly depressed, aren't on weight gain medication or people who've not been very fat in the first place.

I used to be a pro at getting and keeping the weight off too, but I experienced a lot of hypomania back then, I was younger, and I wasn't taking weight gain medication.

Now I do take seroquel, and I've not seen more than a few minutes of hypomania or the absence of depression in several years.

The real questions are, how does one lose weight when you can work out everyday and still be depressed. How does one eat within their calorie range when they can't sleep because their meds make us so damn hungry. We get up have a yogurt or a piece of fruit, still hungry, still can't sleep...then half a peanut butter sandwhich a glass of milk. Great now we can sleep, but we've eaten too much to lose weight...and this happens every night.