View Single Post
coolibrarian
Poohbah

coolibrarian Coolibrarian is feeling anxious.

10 yr Member
1,041 hugs
given
PC PoohBah!
Default Jan 13, 2021 at 11:52 AM

I am in the USA.

I feel like I'm falling apart. I managed to snag an emergency appointment with T; usually I see her every 2 weeks, and this week is my "off" week, but since I feel so miserable, I texted her and asked if she could fit me in. I got a session at noon on Friday.

I have worked at my job since 1985. A lot of things have changed during that time: who my supervisor has been, which department I've worked in, computer systems have migrated to newer versions or entirely new systems. Now we have the Pandemic. I've been working from home since March 2020.
My sister-in-law died from Covid in November 2020.

Currently I am working on a project which just gets worse and worse. I see my supervisor tomorrow for my annual evaluation and discussion of my work program for the next year (Jan.2021-Dec.2021). My evaluation is less glowing than I expected it to be, so that got me thinking about retirement again. But I'm only 61.

All the rules about when you can apply for retirement, medicare, SSDI, SSI, etc., have my head spinning, which is not helping my anxiety or my depression or my PTSD. What I want to do is run away. OR take ativan and climb under the covers. But I'm afraid if I do this, it will be ALL I do. I'm ruminating intensely. My supervisor doesn't answer email questions in a timely manner, and I don't want to go over her head for two reasons: 1, I still have to work with her and 2, I don't like or respect HER supervisor. Since she doesn't answer me, I either need to figure stuff out on my own (that comes with its own complications), or just wait until she gets back to me.