View Single Post
hvert
Grand Magnate

Member Since Jan 2014
3,785 hugs
given
PC PoohBah!
Default Sep 18, 2021 at 08:00 AM

Geez, I hadn't heard that each shot increases the risk of myocarditis. I am really not interested in a booster unless I really need it and that doesn't seem certain. Side effects from shot 2 sucked and I've read side effects from shot 3 are worse. I had Moderna which had triple the dose of Pfizer so hopefully that has me covered for a little longer. If I worked in a hospital or was older or had some other health issues, a third dose might be worth it, but I feel like it would be wasted on me right now. Giving people their first shot of vaccine will do more good than passing out a third dose to the general population imo. If people here don't want them, start sending them out. The wasted doses bother me.

The issue with measles is that some areas no longer are at herd immunity levels. Measles is really contagious so 95% of people need the vaccine for it to stop spreading. I have a vague memory that some spots in the northeast were seeing outbreaks when 10% of the kids in the school system weren't vaccinated. I also wonder how long those vaccines last? Like we have to redo the TDAP shot every ten years or so. I just googled and tetanus, diptheria, and pertussis are all bacteria. Maybe virus vaccines work differently.

I would like to see more research on long haul + breakthrough + long covid. I know of one person who had a breakthrough and who would technically be long haul because her symptoms lasted more than a month, but she was steadily improving.