View Single Post
pliepla

Member Since Oct 2019
70 hugs
given
Trig Dec 07, 2022 at 06:15 PM

My history with self-harm is relatively limited. So far it was mostly limited to sports (with a few injuries that I provoked but never stopped me from mountainbike racing) and hitting myself when stress and anxiety became too big.

I was "clean" for about ten years but recently, due to difficulties in therapy, I started hitting myself. I never spoke out because therapy did not feel like a safe enough place to talk about this. After ending this year in therapy, my urge to hit myself relatively quickly faded.

Now, I think I should elaborate a little about my difficulties in therapy. For a long time, I have been trying hard: I was working while suffering from depression with all the sinister thougts that come with it. After falling out with a burnout/depression, I started studying again and obtained a second masters degree despite relapsing in my final year. After that came a divorce, a few months of homelessness and the diagnosis of a genetic heart disease, all within the same year.
Possible trigger:

I was eventually hospitalized for two months but while on the waiting list, I talked to my psychiatrist about distrust in therapists in general and we had a few months to elaborate on this. The conclusion was that - and I try to translate what I remember as accurately as I can - "I present myself differently from what I report," apparently trying hard - working or studying -, showing up on time and still taking the occasional shower - were deemed misleading and creating the false impression of "not really having a serious problem." I got the advice to talk about this caveat when starting a new therapy.