View Single Post
redcog

Member Since Aug 2023
Default Sep 03, 2023 at 10:15 PM

One of the reasons I came to this support forum is because stuff is not going well with therapy. It's long and complicated, so I'll sum it up.

I've been in therapy on and off, different types, for 30 years. I've gone years in between each therapy experience. I started when I was 11- not my choice. Parents forced me into it due to a trauma. I wasn't ready to talk and so that didn't last long. Had a really awful experience when I went back when I was 17- again not my choice. I won't go into that experience here, because well, that would be a book. I went for about 2 years in college. about 2 years in my early 20's. I was never able to actually talk in any of these. I had gotten so good at not talking, and couldn't figure out how to do it.

In my mid/late 20's I went back. I saw that T for about 5 years, and the last year of it I started to.....not talk, but sort of. It was the first time I felt like I was ready, and I was just working on pushing it out. But then that T stopped taking my insurance. I was devastated! I really felt like I finally trusted someone enough to start talking. It was also very sudden (IMO). She told me three weeks before we would be stopping. So of course I stopped talking, because what's the point with three weeks. I shut down, and decided therapy was not for me. If I couldn't trust that someone would stay- why bother.

But as always, stuff started to come up. I went back to some really bad coping mechanisms. I stopped eating, was purging when I did. SI. So finally I decided to go back. And started seeing H. I have now been seeing her (sort of- more to come on that), for 7 years.