View Single Post
Gottix
Newly Joined

Member Since Feb 2024
Default Feb 10, 2024 at 12:57 PM

Ok i am new so i am gonna publish this here.
Hey everyone, I'm reaching out for some guidance and support, and I'd appreciate any help you can offer. I'm a university student, just starting out, and I'm 18 years old. Coming from an area where my accent is often seen as amusing, I've never had many friends. The environment where I grew up wasn't conducive to studying or humor, and many people were unkind.

Recently, I went to a club with a guy from my almost deserted university residence. Despite feeling misled about the social scene there, I ended up encountering drama when one of the guys got into a fight with his ex-girlfriend, who was also present. Despite her flirtations with me, I tried to be respectful and didn't want to interfere. But when I began chatting and dancing with another girl, the guy's friend confronted me, claiming she was his. It left me feeling disrespected and questioning the dynamics of respect in social interactions. It made me question whether this person considered my feelings at all. It wasn't just a matter of being seen as a friend; it felt like a personal affront to my dignity.

I've formed groups and feel accepted, being in some way the guy who is funny (which girls liked in the first place), but lately, I've been struggling to assert myself and share my opinions. It's like I'm afraid to speak up, and I end up staying silent. Additionally, I often feel isolated as many students leave for their hometowns, leaving me alone. I've transitioned from being a loner to someone making an effort, but I still lack confidence. Bullying and betrayal in the past have left me wary of trusting others. So, I'm looking for advice and tips on how to improve my social skills, speak up more confidently, and overcome my fear of judgment. Specifically, I want to learn how to:

- Speak louder and with more confidence
- Stop depending on others' opinions for validation