RDMercer
Grand Member

Member Since May 2013
97 hugs
given
PC PoohBah!
Default Aug 18, 2024 at 01:55 PM

Hi Hope,

First off, I want to say, "Thank You" for how wonderful and positive and supportive you've been to me for years on here. I appreciate your thoughtfulness so much.

Can I take this conversation in a different direction?

Please, if you can, indulge me for a few minutes.

There are anxieties that don't respond well to traditional medications. We all know that. We know there are people who "light up" at times. I have every belief that everything you are saying is real and true. OK? But what if the root cause of this one is something different?

Have you ever looked at histamine as a neurochemical? It does a lot of wacky things to us.

The stuff I'm going to tell you about is all based on published research I've read over the years. At one time, I did a degree related to advanced sport performance. I was especially interested in the role that inflammation played, both as an adaptive response (making muscles grow stronger) and as an injury response (swelling).

Histamine is an inflammation response, but it also has a lot of effect on the brain.

It's possible to end up in a loop.... Heightened anxiety triggers a stress response which includes mast cells dumping inflammation chemicals, those inflammation chemicals produce responses in the body such as vasodilation, changes in gut motility, sweating, water retention, and other things. IF your liver can't clear those inflammatory chemicals out of your blood in time, the feedback mechanism to your brain begins to light up AGAIN! Think about the panic that sets in as you get sick or injured. Your brain is freaking out because of feedback from your body. Well, it's kinda the same thing.